Basso Cantante Virtuoso


Kerstin Alt


+49 30 214 594-235

Clara Rempe


+49 30 214 594-233



« Darkness covers the world - but the people who wander in the darkness see a great light. »
This theme, based on Isaiah, was paramount in Handel's time and runs like a red thread through his oratorio.

In this virtuoso baroque programme, the bass arias from the Messiah build the framework within which works by Vivaldi, Scarlatti, Bach and Handel form a compendium of a baroque search for meaning. The sometimes extravagant coloraturas are used in a wide variety of contexts - from the warlike cry of battle to the rocking sea voyage of the Ship of Hope; from the vivid depiction of stormy weather to the exuberant fanfare of the Resurrection. 

The variety of instrumental possibilities of the voice within the coloraturas (= colourations) is contrasted with the vocal possibilities of the baroque trumpet, which is played without valves only through varied lip tension, and is very similar in character to the voice. The two soloists are carried by the string apparatus with basso continuo, which is equally as virtuous.

The programme concludes with the question, which has remained relevant since the Baroque period and which is also addressed in the Messiah: Why do the nations so furiously rage together?

First Performance: 21. December, 2018

to Article zum Beitrag


Georg Friedrich Händel (1685 – 1759)    
from Messiah HWV 56:    
Recit.: For behold, darkness shall cover the earth
Aria: The people that walked in darkness                   

Antonio Vivaldi (1678 – 1741)       
from Tito Manlio RV 738: 
Aria: Se il cor guerriero              

Concerto for Strings and Basso Continuo C Major, RV 114:
(Allegro | Adagio | Ciaccona)                        

from Tito Manlio RV 738: 
Aria: Orrible lo scempio            

Georg Friedrich Händel (1685 – 1759)         
from Orlando HWV 31:     
Aria: Sorge infausta una procella   

Alessandro Scarlatti (1660 – 1725)                
from Cinque Profeti:          
Aria: Qual nocchiero agitat o dall'onde
Aria: Chiama le gioie al core

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681 – 1767)
Sonata in D Major for Trumpet and Strings, TWV 44,1:
(Sprituoso | Largo | Vivace)


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750)         
from Cantata Gleichwie der Regen und Schnee vom Himmel fällt BWV 18:         

from BWV 46 Schauet doch und sehet:         
Aria: Dein Wetter zog sich auf von weitem    

from BWV 36 Schwingt freudig euch empor:               
Aria: Willkommen werter Schatz               

from Cantata BWV 61 Nun komm der Heiden Heiland:
Arioso: Siehe, ich stehe vor der Tür und klopfe an                  

from BWV 62 Nun komm der Heiden Heiland:            
Aria: Streite, siege, starker Held      

from Cantata Der Herr denket an uns BWV 196:

Georg Friedrich Händel (1685 – 1759)
from Messiah HWV 56:    
Recit.: Behold, I tell you a mystery
Aria: The trumpet shall sound
Aria: Why do the nations so furiously rage together?

Duration: 65 – 70 minutes; plus intermission ad libitum

to Article zum Beitrag


to Article zum Beitrag